SMSF Association appoints new board chair

SMSF Association board chair

The SMSF Association has named a new chair and vice chair to its board after the government appointed the former chair to its retirement review panel.

The board of the SMSF Association has appointed a new chair and vice chair following the resignation of Dr Deborah Ralston after her appointment to the recently announced Retirement Income Review.

Ralston will be succeeded by current vice chair of the Association, Robin Bowerman, who will step into the role immediately following Ralston’s decision to stand down as chair on 27 September, and as a director from 3 October.

Bowerman has been vice chair for the past three years and a board member since 2011, and is Head of Corporate Affairs at Vanguard Investments. His role as vice chair will be filled by Andrew Hamilton, a current director and former chair of the SMSFA from early 2012 to early 2014.

Ralston’s appointment to the three member review panel was announced by the federal Treasurer, Josh Frydenberg, late last week prompting her to state: “Unfortunately I find myself in a position where I feel I must tender my resignation as chair and a director of the SMSF Association.”

“It has been a privilege to work with my fellow directors, the executive, and the members, all of whom are dedicated to ensuring Australians enjoy a secure retirement,” she added.

Commenting on the change of chair, Bowerman said: “I am very honoured that my fellow directors have asked me to succeed Deborah as chair. Although we are all greatly disappointed at losing Deborah before the end of her term, we totally appreciate why she has chosen to resign and wish her all the best in this new important role.”

“She has provided the Association with sound leadership at a difficult time for the industry, and I know I speak for all members when I say her contribution has been greatly valued.”

The other members of the SMSFA board are Robyn FitzRoy, Liam Shorte, Bernie Ripoll, Tracey Scotchbrook, Michael Houlihan and Scott Hay-Bartlem. Scotchbrook and Houlihan were appointed as directors from 1 June and Hay-Bartlem from 1 July, while Ripoll joined the board in April this year.

Copyright © SMS Magazine 2024

ABN 43 564 725 109

Benchmark Media

Site design Red Cloud Digital