TPB appoints new board members

TPB board members

Two new members, including the IPA chief executive, have been appointed to the Tax Practitioners Board for a three-year period.

The Tax Practitioners Board (TPB) has announced the appointment of two new board members, Andrew Conway and Steven Dobson, effective 30 March, for a three-year period following the recent departure of two members.

With more than 15 years’ experience in senior executive positions in the accounting industry, Conway is the chief executive and a fellow of the Institute of Public Accountants and was previously a federal Treasury ministry chief of staff and senior adviser.

He also serves as adjunct professor at Deakin University and on the Department of Foreign Affairs Ministerial Advisory Council on Free Trade Agreement Negotiations.

Dobson is currently the chair of the Small Business Development Corporation (WA) and holds other positions in the public, private and not-for-profit communities, including director of Dobson Financial Planning.

The TBP board member vacancies follow the departure of Greg Lewis, who was appointed in 2015 and had served as acting chair on multiple occasions and was most recently chair of the board conduct committee.

Julianne Jaques also departs the board after six years of providing governance advice to staff while chair of the TPB’s audit and risk committee.

TBP chair Ian Klug welcomed the addition of Conway and Dobson, saying: “The TPB is looking forward to their contribution, together with the benefit of their combined experience. These appointments will ensure that the TPB continues to play an increasingly important role in the protection of consumers of tax practitioner services.

“I would also like to acknowledge and thank departing members Greg Lewis and Julianne Jaques. Their contribution has been significant and was invaluable in assisting to guide the board in undertaking its regulatory functions.”

Copyright © SMS Magazine 2024

ABN 43 564 725 109

Benchmark Media

Site design Red Cloud Digital