AFA names new board leadership

AFA board

The AFA board has appointed a new president, vice-president and treasurer after long-serving members announced they are stepping down.

The Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) has announced changes to key board roles after national president Michael Nowak’s decision to step down from the role.

Nowak, who has been on the board for nine years and president for the past three, will be succeeded by vice-president Sam Perera, while treasurer Matthew Hawkins, who has been on the board for seven years – the last as treasurer – will be replaced by Samantha Robinson.

Perera has been on the AFA board for two years and prior to being vice-president was treasurer, and he will be replaced in the former role by Michelle Veitch.

The appointments were made at a recent board meeting, are effective immediately and were decisions of the board to fill casual vacancies until the next annual general meeting in 2022.

Perera thanked Nowak and Hawkins for their long periods of service on the AFA board in recent years when advisers and the association had been under pressure due to ongoing regulatory change.

“Mike has been an outstanding president of the AFA, tireless in his advocacy on behalf of the AFA as the royal commission reforms have continued unabated and the COVID-19 pandemic created major operational challenges for the AFA and our members,” Perera said.

“As vice-president, I had a unique insight into how the passion and absolute commitment Mike has for the AFA translated into a huge workload as president on top of his family and business commitments.

“The AFA board fully supports Mike’s decision to share the load and allow somebody else to take on the presidential responsibilities.

“Matt also has significant work and family commitments and it’s time for somebody else to take on this significant role to allow him to focus on his other commitments.”

Alongside the president, vice-president and treasurer, the AFA board has representatives from each state and territory chosen by member ballot at the association’s annual general meeting, and they are Katherine Hayes (New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory), Patricia Garcia (Queensland), Jawad Ahmad (South Australia/Northern Territory) and Stephen Knight (Western Australia), while Shaun McDonagh is an independent director. Representative positions for Victoria and Tasmania are currently vacant.

Copyright © SMS Magazine 2024

ABN 43 564 725 109

Benchmark Media

Site design Red Cloud Digital