Education, FASEA

FASEA awards credits for designation study

FASEA credits

Study towards a professional designation from four industry associations has been recognised by FASEA and receive credit for prior learning.

The Financial Adviser Standards and Ethics Authority (FASEA) has added to its list of approved degrees and qualifications and awarded credits for study to attain a professional designation offered by four professional bodies.

FASEA stated it had registered the 2020 Amendment Legislative Instrument and Explanatory Statement for its Relevant Providers Degrees, Qualifications and Courses Standard on the Federal Register of Legislation.

The instrument includes all bachelor degrees, graduate diplomas and bridging courses FASEA has approved from January to August 2020 and is an update to the 2020 Determination, which lists all courses approved by the authority.

The authority stated in a summary document that it had awarded one credit for professional study to attain a professional designation for courses undertaken through the Association of Financial Advisers (AFA), Financial Planning Association (FPA), CPA Australia and the Stockbrokers and Financial Advisers Association (SAFAA).

Courses recognised from the AFA are the Chartered Financial Practitioner and Fellow Chartered Financial Practitioner – both offered by Mentor Education – and commenced during or after 2009 and before December 2013.

Courses recognised from the FPA are the Life Risk Specialist, completed during or after 2009 and before December 2018, and the Accredited Estate Planning Strategists, completed during or after 2010 and before December 2013.

Courses recognised from CPA Australia are the Certified Practising Accountants Associate Designation Program completed during or after 1985 to December 1988 and the recognised course from the SAFAA is the Professional Diploma in Stockbroking.

FASEA also approved graduate diplomas, bachelor degrees, masters programs and bridging courses or units within those degrees from Deakin University, University of Canberra, University of Adelaide, University of NSW, Western Sydney University and Swinburne University of Technology as approved units of study towards meeting education requirements.

The determination also includes some amendments to historical course and degree details, and was based on six formal submissions during FASEA’s consultation process in December 2019.

Copyright © SMS Magazine 2024

ABN 43 564 725 109

Benchmark Media

Site design Red Cloud Digital