Education, FASEA

FASEA expands approved designations, courses list

FASEA bridging courses prior learning

FASEA has added to the list of designations recognised as providing prior learning for advisers and approved bridging courses offered by a major university.

The Financial Adviser Standards and Ethics Authority (FASEA) will recognise coursework linked to another two professional designations for credit towards its new education standards and has also approved three bridging courses from a major Queensland university.

FASEA stated it had approved applications for the recognition of coursework to attain a professional designation from the Portfolio Construction Forum and CFA Societies Australia as part of its new education standards for financial advisers.

Advisers who have completed coursework to attain the Certified Investment Management Analyst designation during or after 2001, offered by the Portfolio Construction Forum, have been awarded one credit recognition for prior learning.

One credit has also been awarded for advisers who have completed coursework to attain the Chartered Financial Analyst designation offered by CFA Societies Australia.

To date, FASEA has recognised prior learning coursework undertaken to attain a professional designation offered by the following:

  • Association of Financial Advisers,
  • CPA Australia,
  • CFA Societies Australia,
  • Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand,
  • Financial Planning Association,
  • Portfolio Construction Forum, and
  • SMSF Association.

FASEA has also approved three bridging courses offered by the Queensland University of Technology (QUT), covering financial principles, regulations, practice, and ethics and professional relationships.

The authority stated the approval was recognition of the alignment of QUT’s courses with FASEA’s required curriculum and standards, and expands the number of approved bridging courses to 27, alongside 66 historical courses and 63 current bachelor or higher degrees that have been approved.

To date, the higher education providers with an approved bridging course are as follows:

  • Australian Catholic University,
  • Central Queensland University,
  • Charles Sturt University,
  • Curtin University,
  • Deakin University,
  • Griffith University,
  • Kaplan Professional,
  • Queensland University of Technology,
  • Swinburne University of Technology,
  • TAFE NSW Higher Education,
  • University of Newcastle,
  • University of New England,
  • University of South Australia,
  • University of Technology Sydney, and
  • Western Sydney University.

Copyright © SMS Magazine 2024

ABN 43 564 725 109

Benchmark Media

Site design Red Cloud Digital